2018 CMA Nominees Announced

By kncitom on August 28, 2018

Luke Bryan helped announce the 2018 CMA nominees this morning in Nashville. No surprise, critical fave Chris Stapleton leads the way with five nominations, including in the album and male vocalist categories. In a nine-way tie for 2nd place with three nominations each: Dan + Shay, Chris Janson, Midland, Thomas Rhett, Dierks Bentley, Jason Aldean, Miranda Lambert, Keith Urban and Florida Georgia Line. The show, again hosted this year by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood, airs November 14th on ABC.

Here are your major categories

Entertainer of the year

Jason Aldean

Luke Bryan

Kenny Chesney

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Single of the Year (goes to the artist)

“Broken Halos” – Chris Stapleton

“Drinkin’ Problem” – Midland

“Drowns the Whiskey” – Jason Aldean (Feat. Miranda Lambert)

 “Meant to Be” – Bebe Rexha & Florida Georgia Line

“Tequila” – Dan + Shay

Song of the year (goes to songwriter)

“Body Like A Back Road”

Songwriter(s): Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne

“Broken Halos”

Songwriter(s): Mike Henderson, Chris Stapleton

“Drowns the Whiskey”

Songwriter(s): Brandon Kinney, Jeff Middleton, Josh Thompson

“Drunk Girl”

Songwriter(s): Scooter Carusoe, Tom Douglas, Chris Janson


Songwriter(s): Nicolle Galyon, Jordan Reynolds, Dan Smyers

Male vocalist of the year  

Dierks Bentley

Luke Combs

Thomas Rhett

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Female vocalist of the year 

Kelsea Ballerini

Miranda Lambert

Maren Morris

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood

Vocal duo of the year

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay

Florida Georgia Line

Maddie & Tae


New artist of the year 

Lauren Alaina

Luke Combs

Chris Janson


Brett Young

Album of the Year

“From A Room: Volume 2” – Chris Stapleton

Producer(s): Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton

“Golden Hour” – Kacey Musgraves

Producer(s): Ian Fitchuk, Daniel Tashian, Kacey Musgraves

“Graffiti U” – Keith Urban

Producer(s): Keith Urban, Dan McCarroll, J.R. Rotem, Josh Kerr, Jason Evigan, Greg Wells, Benny Blanco, Ed Sheeran, Johnny McDaid, Jesse Shatkin, Jimmy Robbins, Oscar Holter, Matt Rad, Eric Valentine, Ian Kirkpatrick, Mike Elizondo, Captain Cuts, Ross Copperman, Dann Huff, Peter Karlsson

“Life Changes” – Thomas Rhett

Producer(s): Julian Bunetta, Jesse Frasure, Dann Huff, Joe London, Thomas Rhett

“The Mountain” – Dierks Bentley

Producer(s): Ross Copperman, Jon Randall Stewart, Arturo Buenahora Jr.

Vocal Group of the Year 

Lady Antebellum


Little Big Town


Old Dominion

Musical Event of the Year 

“Burning Man” – Dierks Bentley Feat. Brothers Osborne

“Dear Hate” – Maren Morris (Feat. Vince Gill)

“Drowns the Whiskey” – Jason Aldean (Feat. Miranda Lambert)

“Everything’s Gonna Be Alright” – David Lee Murphy (with Kenny Chesney)

“Meant to Be” – Bebe Rexha & Florida Georgia Line


Music Video of the Year 

“Babe” – Sugarland (featuring Taylor Swift)

Director(s): Anthony Mandler

“Cry Pretty” – Carrie Underwood

Director(s): Randee St. Nicholas

“Drunk Girl”– Chris Janson

Director(s): Jeff Venable

Marry Me” – Thomas Rhett

Director(s): TK McKamy

“Tequila” – Dan + Shay

Director(s): Patrick Tracy











Around the site